Coincidence Knows Best by Mudly Art

Topic: Coincidence

It was innocent enough. Jared sent out an email giving us the heads up about this topic for The Write On Project.

At first, it was just another email. Another email sitting in my inbox requiring a response. The pile was growing. Since when did it take so much energy to answer an email? I send snail mail for cripe’s sake!! Real, honest to goodness, mail. Hand written, decorated, thought out, carefully constructed, and stamped specialness that gets hand delivered by the USPS from my doorstep to yours. And yet, email is hard. Or so I tell myself, as I let it accumulate, still.

I reread Jared’s request at least 5 times. I even just stared at it for a while, twirling my hair. Contemplating. Last TWOP topic I bailed on last minute, unable to get excited about the topic and put my heart into the post, it never quite felt done. I didn’t want a repeat experience. So I kept staring.

Coincidently, the topic is coincidence. And I don’t believe any coincidence is really just a coincidence. Obviously I have things to say about Coincidence. And Coincidences have things to say to me. This Coincidence wanted me to write. I stopped staring and managed to send my email response saying I would write.

Immediately there was internal writer’s panic. Now that I had committed I just wanted it to be over already. So I coughed out a coincidence blog post and checked it off my list. Catastrophe avoided.

Except I didn’t write anything. Or rather, I wrote something, but I didn’t say anything. What I wrote was voiceless. It had no part of me in it. It is dead words on a page. There is no heart. No soul. No risk. No chance of connecting. Here I was, writing on a topic that is near and dear to me, with an extra opportunity to connect and share, and I was taking it for granted, or worse, treating it like a homework assignment. That is not what Coincidence had in mind when it appeared in my inbox.

Coincidence was knocking for me to come out and play. Coincidence wanted to hear my side of the story. Coincidence wanted to know why I trust it so much.

Coincidence my dear, you were right (of course). Not only did I scrap the other post, but I realized that writing, and sharing, and improving my writing, is something that makes me happy, and its something I want to pursue on a more serious level. Which, of course, is what Coincidence knew and was just patiently waiting for me to figure out.

Coincidence, I love you.

Leave a Reply

