Now That’s a Coincidence. . .I Think by Brown Road Chronicles

Topic: Coincidence

Coincidence: that’s the latest topic at the Write On Project, the best community of writers and bloggers in the blogosphere. I’ll admit to struggling with coming up with an idea that would do this topic justice. For some reason the words just weren’t coming to me.

I know what a coincidence is. . .I think.

Was it a coincidence that in October of 2002, as we were preparing for my mother’s funeral services that the two magnetic photo boards arrived from the funeral home, each board holding a small hummingbird magnet? It had been roughly two months before, as my mother was sitting at home in a hospital-style bed, dying from a brain tumor, that she had told a close, lifelong friend that after she passed, she would return to this world as a hummingbird. Yes, that was certainly a little creepy, but a coincidence? I don’t know.

Was it a coincidence when our first child, our daughter, was originally due to be born on December 8th, the same day as my uncle, who is not only my employer but a close friend and a pseudo-parent to my wife and me? Instead our daughter decided to arrive two weeks early on November 25th, the birthday of his wife, my aunt. Then just a year or so later, we heard that the folks we had purchased our home from, the same people that had told us they had seen a ghost in our old farmhouse, had a baby that was born on. . . you guessed it. . .November 25th. Okay, definitely creepy, but coincidence? Well, okay. . . maybe a little coincidental.

I do remember a few years later as our son was due to be born towards the end of November, declaring that if he were to be born on November 25th, we would have to sell the house and move out, as that would be clear evidence that it was possessed and that we would someday find out that a horrible murder or tragedy had occurred in our house on that date. Thankfully, he decided to show up November 15th. Whew!

So, yes, I think I know what a coincidence is, but I still struggled to write a meaningful post.  As a newly-tapped contributor to the Write On Project I didn’t want to bail on this topic because of a simple case of writer’s block. But as I continued to fail to come up with the words for this post, I thought maybe reading an official definition of the word would provide me with the inspiration to begin writing about coincidence. Add in a few profanities (readers seem to like those) and a few hours later I’d have a post worthy of submitting to the Write On Project.

So I looked up Coincidence on Wikipedia and discovered this:

A coincidence is the occurring of an event in conjunction with any some conditions, e.g. another event. As such, a coincidence occurs when something uncanny, accidental and unexpected happens under conditions named, but not under a defined relationship. When there are no conditions named, the event is just that single entity. The word is derived from the Latin cum- (“with”, “together”) and incidere (a composed verb from “in” and “cadere”: “to fall on”, “to happen”). In science, the term is generally used in a more literal translation, e.g., referring to when two rays of light strike a surface at the same point at the same time. In this usage of coincidence, there is no implication that the alignment of events is surprising, noteworthy or non-causal. A coincidence does not prove a causal or any other modal relationship nor require any such. In the field of mathematics, the index of coincidence can be used to analyze whether two events are related. Such index does not define any relationship, but just describes some possibility of such. Physically related events may be expected to have a higher probability to occur, probability is the basic metrics, or method, to rationally evaluate physical coincidences.

Huh?

Yeah, okay, I don’t have any fucking clue what the fuck any of that means. . .and that’s no coincidence!

 

Leave a Reply

