Big Plans for Today by Lick the Fridge

Topic: Intentions vs. Goals

I had every intention of accomplishing many things today. I intended to have a good day with the kids, but that plan was derailed at five in the morning when I went in to get my son out of his crib and he cried hysterically for his mommy and flopped around like a fish out of water and refused to let me take him downstairs.

I had every intention of eating breakfast today, but I never got to sit down and eat anything because eggs had to be scrambled, and fruit had to be cut, and milk and apple juice had to be poured, and forks had to be picked up off the floor, and toys had to be retrieved from the other room, and hands had to be wiped, and dishes had to be cleaned, and food had to be put away.

I had every intention of brushing my teeth today, and I had every intention of taking a shower, and I had every intention of changing my underwear, but none of that happened because stories had to be read, and socks had to be put on, and pajamas had to be taken off, and diapers had to be changed, and diapers had to be changed, and diapers had to be changed, and trash had to be emptied, and songs had to be sung, and cries had to be quelled, and arguments had to be mediated.

I had every intention of staying calm and enjoying a beautiful spring day with my children today, but clouds had to come rushing in, and rain had to dump, and parks had to get muddy, and kids had to demand to go outside anyway, and tempers had to flare, and patience had to be lost, and voices had to be raised, and doors had to be slammed, and toys had to be thrown, and deep breaths had to be taken.

I had every intention of being a good father today and being focused on my kids, but blog posts had to be written, and job listings had to be perused, and cover letters had to be devised, and resumes had to be tweaked, and applications had to be sent, and worry and anxiety had to make themselves noticeable.

I had every intention of finding some down time today, but naps were replaced by screams, and toys were fought over, and soccer games didn’t get recorded on the TV, and worthwhile thoughts didn’t come into my head, and novels wouldn’t open themselves up to be read.

I had many intentions that went unfulfilled today. Circumstances and moods and temperaments and perspectives and chaos prevented their follow through.

Perhaps I need to revise my intentions, to concoct new intentions that are more reasonable, more accessible, and more likely to be completed.

Or perhaps I should not focus on my intentions, but on my goals. And more specifically on my newest goal which is to simply make it through each day without losing my mind. If that one goal can be achieved each day, then I will feel proud and I will feel like I am doing some good in the world.

Yes, I think that’s what I might do from now on. That’s my intention at least.

Comments
2 Responses to “Big Plans for Today by Lick the Fridge”
  1. amyweezie says:

    I related to all of this. My diaper changing days are over, but I especially felt the repetitious angst of “and diapers had to be changed, and diapers had to be changed …” Amen!

    • Jared Karol says:

      thank, Amy. Yes, I have a feeling that no matter how long one has been out of the diaper changing days, they will stick with you. . . The worst part for me is that the diaper pail seems to be full every half hour or so. Man, those kids shit a lot! 🙂

Leave a Reply

