My Best Friend (It’s Not What You Think) by Mona Andrei

Topic: Best Friends

As a writer I’m not exposed to many occupational hazards. Which kind of suits my personality since I’m not that good with pain (it hurts me). How I managed to have four kids, I’ll never know. It may have something to do with that part of the brain that makes us forget painful experiences. You know. So that we’re inclined to do it all over again. The giving birth thing, I mean.

But there is one sort of occupational hazard that I could accredit to my being a writer–although it’s more of an occupational happenstance than hazard. I’m a loner. Yup. I said it. I. Like. My. Time. Alone.

And so when I was invited by Jared Karol (Lick the Fridge) and Mitchell Brown (Thoughtful Pop), editors of the Write On Project, to write on the topic of “Best Friends”, the first thing to pop in my head was, well, my coffee machine.

Before I answer the question that I’m pretty sure is going through your mind right now (“WHAT?!! – Yeah, that’s the one) I just want to say that I do have friends. When I say “loner”, I don’t mean “hermit”. But being the type of writer who needs to hear what I’m working on out loud, well, alone is just the best way for me to be–a lot of the time.

So, yes, the words “best friend” conjure up images of my Keurig coffee machine. And isn’t a best friend someone you can always count on anyway? “Always happy to see” also fits in the best friend description.

So when I wake up in the morning, there’s nothing (and no one) I want to see more than my first hot cup of coffee.

Just me and my cup of java. For at least the first two hours of my day.

You have to admit. That does sound like best friend appreciation.

Comments
4 Responses to “My Best Friend (It’s Not What You Think) by Mona Andrei”
  1. TJ Alexian says:

    *raising mug* I’ll drink to that!

  2. GangstaFish says:

    I envy your talent to successfuly convey comedy; I laughed several times though out reading this. And I’m happy I read it. Because I when I did, (all of four seconds ago), I was freakishly tired, and now for some reason, I’m wide awake. Yep, this exhilierated…exhilirated…this excited me. And a lot of it pretains…pretanes…a lot of this stays true to the commonly-used expression, “it’s funny because it’s true.” Coffee is always there for us. It does what we need it to do for us. Where would we be without it?

    I’ll be looking at coffee a whole different way from now, on. X’D

Leave a Reply

