A Letter To My Brother by Lick the Fridge

Remember when we climbed that fence together at the farm?

Topic: Best Friends

Dear Brother,

Every day when I wake up and I come downstairs and see you playing with the blocks or reading books or sitting with Mommy in the rocking chair, I think how lucky I am to have you as a friend. And then I think of how it must be for other kids who don’t have a friend to play with all the time. A friend who understands what I’m going through and who wants to do the same things as me.

Don’t get me wrong, Mommy and Daddy are great, and I like it when they play with us and watch us do neat things and read us stories, but there’s no one but you that I’d rather hang out with.

Because you are in my life, it’s possible for us to do so many fun things that I couldn’t do by myself. And even the things I could do by myself would be boring because we wouldn’t be able to make each other laugh. It’s not as fun to laugh when you’re by yourself.

Some of my favorite things to do with you are make a line in the windowsill with all the blocks and jump around on the couch downstairs. And I love that whenever we go to a park, I always automatically have a friend to play with and I don’t have to worry about it.

I know sometimes I can tease you and make you mad and even say things that are really not nice. I don’t mean to hurt you. It’s just my age, and I’m sure I’ll grow out of this stage in about fifteen years. Sometimes you’re a little too sensitive about it though. I’m usually just trying to have fun with you and make you laugh. I like when you laugh. It’s funny. And cute.

I’m so proud of all the things you are doing, like going poop and pee in the potty and sleeping in with MoMo the monkey and doing such good summersaults. I would tell you these things more often but I’m kind of shy and embarrassed and my language isn’t that sophisticated yet. Sometimes it’s just easier to write it down and have Daddy post it online.

Brother, we have so many great things ahead of us, and while I’m sure there will be plenty of times when we’ll want to give each other space to do our own things, at this point I look forward to playing with you everyday. I like growing and learning together as we navigate the highs and lows of toddlerhood and beyond.

I’m not just saying this when I say you are my best friend. And how lucky are we to be best friends who get to live together in the same house? I think pretty lucky. Maybe when we’re adults we’ll have our own houses and stuff, but right now I don’t even want to think about that. It makes me sad to think that one day we won’t want to frolic around together on the big comfy chair, or hold hands playing ring around the rosy, or sing the ABC song together.

I guess it’ll happen one day, where we’ll want our own lives and everything, even though I can’t really wrap my mind around it. For now though, I just want to focus on being together, not on being apart. Together everyday, having fun. Brother and sister. BFF. Best friends forever. I love you!

Always thinking of you,

Your Sister

Comments
2 Responses to “A Letter To My Brother by Lick the Fridge”
  1. amyweezie says:

    This is very sweet! I hope my two actually see each other like this at some point.

    • Jared Karol says:

      Thanks, Amy. I know my brother and I did not have this type of relationship growing up, and because of that I’m extra focused on facilitating a positive relationship between my kids. I hope your kids can see each other like this as well.

Leave a Reply

