The Love of an Aunt by Jen Hurowitz

Topic: Love

I always knew my aunt loved me. It was a requirement, after all. Her sister had a baby and she showed the appropriate response. But upon our meeting and mutual love, the role of aunt reached another level.

Have you ever had a favorite relative? If you have, I’m sure you felt guilty. I always did, for I favored my aunt above my other aunts and uncles and preferred hers to the company of my grandparents. There were times I even wanted her to come take me away so we could live happily ever after.

Aunts are made of magic. An aunt knows just what to say when you’re embarrassed about a boy. She takes you to the best movies (and buys you popcorn!) and gives the wisest advice.

She is mysterious. You see where she lives and know what she does for a living, but how well do you really know her when you’re young? She appears at your house, often with presents and never makes you go to bed. The only time she might do that is during a sleepover at her house, and you know she lets you stay up late.

She always seems to have money and loves to buy you dinner. She takes you shopping for clothes and recommends the best lip gloss. She makes you feel that all your awkwardness will one day melt away and you’ll be a beautiful butterfly; just like her.

There were times in my youth I wished I was a boy. I wanted to play basketball and grow several more inches. Being a girl meant my parents were stricter with me and I longed to have the freedom my (younger!) brothers had.

But if I was a boy, I couldn’t be an aunt.

When I married my husband, I automatically became an aunt. I only knew stories of the two little boys far away in Indiana, but I was in love with them when I met them. I may not know the love of having my own child, but what I have with my seven nieces and nephews is pretty amazing.

My aunt always made me feel special and loved. Now that I’m an aunt myself, I understand her more. I realize now that she felt honored to be my aunt. You are often stuck with the relatives you get, but once in a while you are blessed with a kindred spirit.

So maybe your little boys can grow tall, play basketball and get away with murder; but cherish your little girl. If she’s lucky, one day she’ll get to be an aunt.

Comments
7 Responses to “The Love of an Aunt by Jen Hurowitz”
  1. Akanksha Lal says:

    That is such a lovely post Jen. I have 3 nieces and I love them and be loved by them.
    I really wish and hope they feel my love the way you feel the love of your aunt.

    • Jen says:

      Thank you Akanksha, and it’s so great to see you over here! I’m sure your nieces know how much you love them! Being an aunt is amazing. 🙂

  2. Akanksha Lal says:

    That is such a lovely post Jen. I have 3 nieces and I love them and am loved by them.
    I really wish and hope they feel my love the way you feel the love of your aunt.

  3. talleygilly says:

    Jen – What a sweet story, and so glad your aunt was a kindred spirit in your life. My favorite line: “She makes you feel that all your awkwardness will one day melt away and you’ll be a beautiful butterfly; just like her.” Thanks for reminding us that it’s okay to play favorites–in the sense of building deeper connections. -Alexandra

    • Jen says:

      Thank you Alexandra – I always look forward to your comments. Sometimes I still feel bad about playing favorites, but she is one of the only family members I have in my life now.

  4. Anne says:

    Beautiful, Jen.
    “But if I was a boy, I couldn’t be an aunt.” This makes me want to be a better aunt!
    How lucky you were! I always try to remind my kids that it is a special thing when an adult other than your mom or dad actually cares about what you’re doing – a very special thing, and you’ve described the impact it can have very well.

    • Jen says:

      “I always try to remind my kids that it is a special thing when an adult other than your mom or dad actually cares about what you’re doing.” I love that, Anne! Thank you so much for your comment.

Leave a Reply

