Two Peas in a Pod by Nucking Futs Mama

Topic: Love

Whenever people ask me if my twins get along, I answer by saying that they’re the best of friends and the worst of enemies. As with all siblings, one minute they can be playing as peacefully as Buddha with a butterfly, and the next, they can be going at each other like a dog and a cat. No matter what, though, love is by far the underlying bond that always holds them together.

Preschool was a time when this connection was most visibly shown. They were in the same classroom their first year, and my daughter would literally talk for my son. She knew just what he was thinking, and he was perfectly content with letting her answer for him. And while it was sweet to see the whole “twin thing” in action, we knew by their second year of preschool that we needed to split them up. It was time for my son to break out of his shell and not rely so much on his sister.

That first week nearly broke my heart. I absolutely hated the thought of my extremely shy son wandering around like a lost puppy without his little sidekick. I worried so much about it, in fact, that I circled the school after drop-off to see if he would find someone to play with him on the playground. You can just imagine how the tears welled up in my eyes when I spotted him standing there all alone by the tire swing. It took everything I had not to hop out of my car and rescue him from the big, bad world of socialization.

Somehow, though, I managed to keep on driving as I tried like hell to swallow the enormous lump that had formed in my throat. I did, however, make it a point to call his teacher and express my concern later that week. What I found out absolutely amazed and comforted me at the same time. Turns out that each day my daughter made it her duty to steer her brother over to another boy on the playground. And she evidently wouldn’t run off to join her girlfriends until she knew that her best bud was happy and content.

Talk about a proud parenting moment! I was completely blown away at the apparent love these two have for each other. Sure they push each other’s buttons and make each other crazy from time to time, but through it all, they are always there for each other–like two peas in a pod. Wouldn’t we all be so lucky to have someone else watching our backs like that?

Comments
4 Responses to “Two Peas in a Pod by Nucking Futs Mama”
  1. TJ Alexian says:

    What a good sister she is…I’m jealous!

  2. GangstaFish says:

    M’awww, how sweet! Brother/sister companionship in action just makes my heart melt. X’D

  3. susanne says:

    As a mother of boy/girl twins, I can totally relate to this.They start their first year of preschool in the Fall and I can totally see them acting the same way as your twins. My daughter is the dominate twin and my son just follows her lead. I am so curious to see how they interact in a preschool setting!

  4. Thanks for the comments, everybody! I have to say that it is such a cool thing to see how my daughter plays the Mother Hen role with my son. She really takes her 9-minute-arrival-into-the-world-before-her-brother thing pretty seriously by watching over him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

