Do You Understand the Words Coming Out of My Mouth? by Nucking Futs Mama

Topic: Communication

In order to survive parenting without killing each other, my husband and I have learned that communication is really the key to our success. And by “communication” I mean that I pretty much need to spell everything out from A to Z when it’s time for my husband to take the wheel. Now, don’t get me wrong, he really is an amazing dad and all, but he just requires some gentle reminders. Like, for example, that the kids need to eat and crap like that.

And I so badly wanna get pissed at him for not remembering all the day-to-day kid stuff, but he’s just way more “fly by the seat of his pants” than I am or ever will be. He actually laughs at me for leaving ten-page lists of instructions about what kid goes where and when, but if I don’t write it all down, guess what would happen?  They’d be sitting around in their pj’s playing video games all day long, my husband included!

It’s the same way when it comes to driving the sports carpools. I could remind him over and over and over again not to forget a water bottle or the shin guards or a jersey, and the man still somehow manages to leave the house without any of them. As long as he’s got the kids in tow, he figures he’s all good. So as a result, I get to be the crazy woman racing down the sidelines with the forgotten items just in time for the game.

Yes, like I’ve said many times before, the proverbial ship of this household would no doubt sink if my picture were to ever end up on the back of a milk carton. Whether they admit it or not, my husband and my kids need my nagging and preaching. Cause hey, somebody’s gotta be the Queen Communicator around here, and apparently, that seems to be moi. . .

Comments
One Response to “Do You Understand the Words Coming Out of My Mouth? by Nucking Futs Mama”
  1. There’s one in every family and they do miss you when you’re not there. Everyone in our house misses good food cooked on time and an organized house when I’m not here for any reason. Mind you we’d all miss the taxi service if my wife wasn’t here, so it’s a team effort. Posts like yours make me feel good because it makes me realize I’m not the only one with that problem. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

